Great Summer hang-out place

One of my favorite spring and summer hangout spots is Dewey Coffee and Popcorn Shop at Shaker Square.

You can always have a great time there. No mater what it is. They all the latest coffee, sandwiches, and snacks. Just about six steps forward from the counter, you will enter adjacent Popcorn Shop. They have  more than your traditional butter popcorn they have a lot of varieties.  A neighbor gave me and my wife a boxes of different flavored popcorn. My favorite was the sour cream and onion.  Although, my wife hogged all of it. On Mondays’ after school, I rush right over to get my hands on a fresh batch of Carmel Corn and it is 20 percent off, – every Monday. Did I mention everyone’s favorite dessert – Ice Cream? They have that too. They have many different flavors. My favorite has always been Butter Pecan. That is what my mother introduced me to when I was young. On Tuesdays it is 2 for 1 on all ice cream cones. I try to eat both, but I let my wife have the other one.

Deweys have a lot of entertainment that I enjoy. They have music on selected Saturdays. One day, I am going to host one of the shows, hey I might even sing.  You can play chess, inside or out. You can sit and chill, like I am now, hammering away on the keys of my laptop. However, do not bring in other place food. You would be tempted to sit down with a Subway sandwich in your hands. But the tables and the establishment is only for Dewey’s patron.

 

IMG_20140417_143508_338

Deweys and the Popcorn Shop gets at least up to 300 customers a day.They are open early for that person to start their day with a cup a coffee. They are open late, so you can have a snack and maybe a box of popcorn before you go to the movies.

They are open everyday 6 a.m.  8 p.m. on Monday – Thursdays and Fridays and Saturdays 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. and on Sundays from 7:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.

No doubt in my mine, Deweys and the Popcorn Shop is the tastiest jewel at Shaker Square.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

